Bridging the Gaps
Interdisciplinary Approaches in Life Sciences
19th EMBL PhD Symposium
19th–21st October, 2017
EMBL Heidelberg, Germany

About the Symposium

Since its conception in 2000, the annual EMBL PhD Symposium has grown into a well-respected meeting of early-career scientists and high-profile speakers. It is organized entirely by predoctoral fellows at EMBL, and the aim of this year's symposium is to highlight the importance of interdisciplinary approaches in the Life Sciences.

During the past decades, rapidly progressing research and technological breakthroughs in the Life Sciences have produced unparalleled biological knowledge and provided valuable insights into the molecular mechanisms that govern living systems. Despite these remarkable advancements, there are still many gaps in our understanding of biology. It is often by pushing the limits surrounding conventional biological approaches and creating connections with other fields, that new bridges are built to successfully answer scientific questions.

This symposium aims to depict a broad range of interdisciplinary approaches that are used in the Life Sciences. Such approaches bear a great potential in explicitly defining and successfully resolving complex biological problems. By bringing together accomplished scientists and young researchers from diverse backgrounds, we aim to build bridges between disciplines and also people, and to highlight the value of diversity in the scientific process.

Confirmed speakers

Registration will open soon!

We will keep you updated here and on social media


Sponsorship Information

The EMBL PhD symposium will provide an invaluable networking environment for your company to enhance the profile amongst the molecular biosciences research community, especially towards the young generation. The symposium will offer prime opportunities for your company to promote your new products, latest technology, and services. If you are interested in sponsoring our symposium and would like to have more information, please direct your enquires to us.


Also kindly supported by:

EMBL CPP founder partners

Leica Microsystems Olympus

EMBL CPP corporate partners

BD Boehringer Ingelheim Glaxo Smith Kline Illumina Sartorius ThermoFisher Scientific

EMBL CPP associate partners

Eppendorf Merck Nikon Sanofi

Meeting Grants

Galton Institute


PhD Symposium 2017

facebook twitter linkedin